Home

Contact

A to Z Site Index

Apply Now

Give Now

UCONNECT

Campus Map

Calendar

Campus Directory

OVERVIEW

The Jazz Program at UCO, founded by Dr. Kent Kidwell, has been a vibrant part of the School of Music curriculum since 1973. Award winning ensembles and generations of highly successful professional musicians have been the norm. With the opening of the UCO Jazz Lab in 2002 a new chapter began. Today the Jazz Studies Division offers more performance ensembles than ever before and has expanded degree options including an undergraduate minor in jazz studies and a master of music in jazz studies with majors in performance or music production.


All performance ensembles and most related coursework are open to every UCO student regardless of intended major.


Primary ensemble auditions take place during the 1st week of each Fall semester. Important information will always be posted online and discussed at theannual student meeting beginning at 3PM on the first day of school every Fall semester. (August 18, 2014)

 

Audition informationresultsresults

FACULTY

Brian Gorrell

Brian Gorrell

Jazz Studies Division Head
Jazz Ensemble I
M.M. Jazz Graduate Advisor
Applied Saxophone

bgorrell@uco.edu

READ MORE

Danny Vaughan

Danny Vaughan

Applied Jazz/Commercial Guitar
Jazz Guitar Ensemble

dannyvaughan7777@gmail.com

READ MORE

Clint Rohr

Clint Rohr

Jazz Lab Director
Jazz History

crohr@uco.edu

READ MORE

Jeff Kidwell

Jeff Kidwell

Jazz Lab Assistant Director
Applied Trombone
Jazz Ensemble II
5th Street Strutters Dixieland

JKidwell3@uco.edu

READ MORE

Kent Kidwell

Kent Kidwell

Professor Emeritus
UCO Jazz Program Founder

READ MORE

Lee Rucker

Lee Rucker

Professor Emeritus
Applied Jazz Improvisation

lrucker@uco.edu

READ MORE

David Hardman

David Hardman

Director of Percussion
Conjunto de Jazz Latino

dhardman@uco.edu

READ MORE

Michael Geib

Michael Geib

Applied Classical & Jazz Bass
Jazz Ensemble IV
Jazz Repertory Combo I

mgeib@uco.edu

READ MORE

Dennis Borycki

Dennis Borycki

Applied Jazz Piano
Applied Jazz Improvisation

dborycki@uco.edu

READ MORE

Ryan Sharp

Ryan Sharp

Applied Trumpet
Jazz Ensemble III

rsharp6@uco.edu

READ MORE

Aaron Tomasko

Aaron Tomasko

Jazz Lab Manager
Recording Studio
Music Technology

atomasko@uco.edu

READ MORE

ADMISSION & SCHOLARSHIP

Visit the College of Fine Arts and Design for admissions & School of Music general scholarship information.

You may contact Mr. Brian Gorrell directly to schedule a jazz merit scholarship audition. 
phone: (405) 359-7989 x 278

JAZZ COURSE OFFERINGS

Jazz Ensembles I, II, III, & IV
Latin Jazz Ensemble
Jazz Guitar Ensemble
Vocal Jazz Ensemble (Chamber Swingers)
Undergraduate & Graduate Jazz Combos 

Jazz Theory & Analysis

Applied Jazz Improvisation

Jazz History

Jazz Pedagogy

Graduate Jazz Recital

Applied Jazz Piano

Annual Summer Jazz Camp
Recording Technology Workshop
Annual Summer Guitar Workshop
Music Technology
Computer Music Technology
Advanced Recording Technology
CD Album Pre-Production
CD Album Production
Applied Jazz Arranging
Jazz & Commercial Music Arranging
Arts Management

University of Central Oklahoma - Master of Music Program

COURSE documents



Undergraduate Minor in Jazz Studies Curriculum (PDF)

 

Master of Music in Jazz Studies 2012 Brochure (PDF) 

Master of Music in Jazz Studies Detailed Info (PDF)

 

Master of Music in Jazz Studies Audition Requirements (PDF) 

 

UCO School of Music Audition Information

UCO School of Music Online Application Form

A SPECIAL THANKS TO OUR SPONSORS
CONNECT WITH THE UCO JAZZ LAB